idler arm help

-

dan5354

Reaction score
I am putting together the front suspension with all new parts. I just tightened up the idler arm from PST and it was basically locked. I took it off and checked it with the old one and it is the same, so I put it back on and hit it with a rubber mallet and it did break loose some. I can move it back and forth now but it's very hard to do. this isn't right - right? I am assuming that a new idler should go back and forth with minimal effort. Kind of a bummer since it's the whole mail order send it back for a new one in a couple weeks. Thanks in advance.

If your on the 67 barracuda, I think there a one year only idler arm, you may have the wrong one. Most of the front suspension on mine were one year only, good luck.

It's a 67 Barracuda - 1 year part. It is a PST idler with a tapered shaft - so it isn't binding on anything. The car was hard enough to steer with the old idler in it.

Ok, stud mount then.I have no personal experience with those.
And I read where you said PST. But when I bought the PST kit, in 99, they were Moogs. I find it hard to fault Moogs.For our cars, those are about the best out there.
Other (cheaper) brands are often very tight when new, requiring a great deal of effort, by hand,and mounted, to rotate. Then they loosen up real fast during the early part of their lives. And often die a premature death.
The Moogs can last for many years.And they are usually quite a bit easier to hand rotate(mounted) than the cheap stuff.
If yours is a Moog, I wouldnt worry too much. The old TRWs were pretty good too.
My 68up through-bolt design, loosened up after a few miles and then stayed that way for years.
Now, Im not saying yours is not, or is, defective. Im not there twisting it, and gauging the turning force. And if its too tight, you will definitely have steering issues.