Rear Suspension Question..

-

70Dart499

Reaction score
OK guys here's what I've got, my 70 Dart has Super Stock springs, I currently have Lakewood Traction bars on the car, and it's not hooking very good, I have been told that I need to use a pinion snubber by several Mopar friends. My question is should i use a snubber? And if so, should I remove the Traction bars, or leave them on and add the snubber. I put the bars on, an then learned that they were not the best option, I'm new to MOPARS and I'm looking for some advice from Mopar experts. The car has a 499" low deck 400" engine with a reverse manual valve body 727 and an 8 3/4 rear end with 4:10 gears.

1. Remove your traction bars and toss them in the river.

2. Get a pinion snubber.

This is the system that the SS springs were designed around.

OK thanks, looks like I will get a snubber, do I need to do anything else to the springs?

Depending upon the SS springs you have, you may have to space the pinion snubber up so the air gap is correct between the snubber and the plate on the body. I used to know what the air gap was, but my old gray matter fails me now. I'm sure someone will pipe in with it now that I've mentioned it.

what rear tires are you using, what pinion angle and what front and rear shocks?

275 drag radials, competition engineering 3 way adjustable shocks rear and old loose worn out stock shocks in front, I drilled them so they are loose as possible, and I'm not real sure on the pinion angle to be honest.

If youn drilled the front shocks, you might as well take them off! Either way, it can create a dangerous situation at the track and on the street. That was an old school trick when little or nothing else was available for Mopars.