Stuck valve?--340 V8---Compression check RESULTS

-

blano86

Reaction score
I am a total newb when it comes to fixing stuff but I no enough to know there is a problem. I have a 340 in the 1967 cuda notch.

I may have a stuck valve. I was driving when all of a sudden the cuda started to lurch and back fire thru carb and tail pipes. It ran okay if I accelerated but when I let go of throttle it back fired and it would backfire when I tried to accelerate from idle.

I checked each cylinder, by removing spark plug wires at the block one at a time to check to see if it would miss when I removed them. Every cylinder seemed to miss when I removed wire. My thinking was that if a cylinder had a stuck valve it would not make a difference when I removed wire. I drove it again and about a half a mile down the road it started to act up again.

I removed the valve covers and could not visibly see any problems.
From the pics below could anyone tell me which heads I have? I thought that rockers were adjustable? A compression test would probably help a lot too, but I do not have one on hand. Is there anything else I can check to see if a valve stuck?

Here are some pics of the heads and valve train:

100_3103.jpg

100_3107.jpg

100_3114.jpg

Few things;

1. "A" stuck valve would be either and intake or an exhaust so you wouldn't get back firing through both intake and exahust.
2. Can't tell from sure but in the pictures all the valves look closed, you should have some that are in various stages of being open. Disconnect the coil wire and crank the engine over while observing the valves opening and closing, they all should move about the same amount. The picture makes me think of a wiped cam.
3. Buy, beg, borrow a compression gauge, it's the quickest way to tell if there is a problem.
4. from the looks of your wires you could have some leakage or cross firing going on.