Thermo-Quad metering rod measures

-

Mecki

Reaction score
I have a Thermoquad that I have never used because it's missing the metering rods. Probably that's the reason why it ended up to me. It's in pretty good condition and not too worn. The number stamped on the base plate is 9097S (1976 lean burn 400cid A/T) but that's not necessarily true for the rest of the carburetor since I have no knowledge of the history and it has been apart, blasted and rebuilt before. The cover has casting # 6-2146 which according to some information should be the last non smogger version and used on 73-74 400/440 and some 75-77 trucks. Apparently some export car versions could have had this cover after 74, maybe also this 9097S from 1976 if it comes from an export model.

Anyway the metering rods are missing and seems to be impossible to find. QuadrajetParts.com had 75-1966 rods up for sale but that store is no longer working since the owner has passed and that was the only place I found.

I was thinking that this can't be rocket science and to fix some other rods to fit must be possible. The problem is that I don't have a rod to take some measures from. The measures what I need is:

Material thickness.
Distance from the tip to step 1.
Distance from the tip to step 2.
Distance from the tip to step 3.
Distance from the tip to the top of the rod measured to the inside top of the eye.

The measures of the thickness of the different steps are found in the tables and is the start point to find some rods that could be fitted to a Thermo-Quad.

Maybe some one already has this info or a rod to measure. Or maybe even some spare rods to sell?

Any help would be appreciated. I don't want to scrap this carburetor just for missing rods.
Thanks
Mecki

Edit:
Does anyone know if all the Carter rods with # 75-xxxx are interchangeable. Some YF and YFA 3-step rods are available.

Last edited:
IIRC the 67 FSM has metering rod ODs for Carter carbs, maybe your year FSM does as well