Was Your First Job at Minimum Wage?

-

dibbons

Reaction score
When I graduated in California from high school in June 1973 I went to work (for the next 20 months) at a Chevron station while attending Community College (Auto Technology classes mostly). I was always paid minimum wages which were $1.65 hour during 1973 and then $2.00 after that. Oh, I worked six days a week so maybe I was paid time and a half on Saturdays (can't remember for sure).

Chevron 1973.jpeg

Last edited:
The start of my Junior year in high school, in 1973, I went to work for Ingles Supermarkets for $1.65 an hour. worked there until June of 1978 and was making $3.85 an hour when I quit and went to work for Carolina Power & Light in the line crew. My starting pay at the power company was a dollar more an hour and I absolutely loved it. I thought I was King Kong with bloomers on getting that much of a raise, and having so much fun to boot! :)

The last 2 years of high school were in an Atlantic gas station, pumping gas and helping the mechanic owner. Went to a vocational school and working made my school work in shop a breeze. $1.25 an hour OFF the books. First real job was for a Buick dealer. The minimum wage was $2.50 an hour $74 take home, still have a receipt. 1969.

Pumpin gas and changin oil in 1974 at $2 an hour. I thought I was gonna be a millionaire.

Actually $10/hr in 1973 on a silver mining claim in the desert. I fergit what they called it, but they had to spend so much $$ on the claim per year to keep it. 10 hours $100 cash and done. Then came the Chevron station @ $1.65 :lol:

First job in 1976 was washing dishes in a restaurant making $2.30/hr. In 1979, I started pumping gas and helping the owner on repairs. He paid me in cash, $5/hr.

Stayed there after school until I graduated from high school and Vo-tech (machine shop) in 1981. Started work at Landis Tool Company as a turret lathe operator at a whooping $8/hr. That was Huge money for then.

Last edited: