318 LA hp and torque question

-

okiemike

Reaction score
Im new to the mopar world so I would like to ask a question regarding my 69 notchback barracuda w/318 La. The book states this engine is 230 hp @ 4400 rpm and 340 lb torque @ 2400 rpm. It is bone stock with the orig. intake and 2 barrel carb and single stock exhaust. If I install a SP2P 318 edlebrock alum. intake and 600 cfm carb. along with dual exhaust what kind of hp and torque increase would I be looking at? Thanks

Not as much as you're thinking but you are moving in the right direction. Install a new cam and lifters would help as well (don't forget a double roller timing chain, the factory 318 ones suck).

Im new to the mopar world so I would like to ask a question regarding my 69 notchback barracuda w/318 La. The book states this engine is 230 hp @ 4400 rpm and 340 lb torque @ 2400 rpm. It is bone stock with the orig. intake and 2 barrel carb and single stock exhaust. If I install a SP2P 318 edlebrock alum. intake and 600 cfm carb. along with dual exhaust what kind of hp and torque increase would I be looking at? Thanks

Okie Mike

That 230 HP rating @ 4400 RPM's was way over-stated by Mopar.

As per the NHRA Horsepower Ratings, the 1969 '318' put out 195 HP.

* First Step > Dual-Exhaust will help immensely.

On the Edelbrock #SP2P, it was designed for Low-End Torque and Economy,
as it has small runner-ports to go along with a dual-plane style.

Many call it, the 'Motorhome Intake'.

The carburetor base is designed for a Thermoquad or Spead-Bore style
carburetor.

You won't gain much in Horsepower with this Intake, but the Low-End
Torque will get a 'bump'.

Not meaning to Hijack but I've always wondered. I'm building a 318 with a stock 73 bottom end, late 80's closed chamber swirl port #302 heads, Edelbrock LD4B and 600 cfm carb, 340 cam, dual exhaust, maybe headers but probably stock exhaust manifolds. How much Hp and Tq do you guys think it will make.