How to ask for Sponsorship

-

340dartley

Reaction score
The sun is coming out and racing season is getting ready to start. I have always footed the bill myself for occasional weekend racing. This year I am going to ask for some sponsorship help. I work at a car Chrysler dealership and mentioned sponsorship to a mid to upper management person. He said to type up a proposal and submit it. So I have never done this before and am unsure on what to ask for and how to present my car as an advertising opportunity for them. What are your experiences and suggestions. Car is a sportsman class bracket car. 69 Dart swinger. Low to mid 12s with best time of 11.89 back in 1989 lol

I would generally start with the target audience size and then brake it down. This many ticket sales at each track, TV audience, demographics, ect. I was usually able to get these figures from the tracks and sanctioning body. Generally this will give a prospective sponsor an idea of what it's costing them to reach each person in their target audience. Usually bargaining would be (unfortunately) in the money received department. Also we would throw in appearances at malls, car dealerships, car shows, ect. Some guys will hire an outside company to draw up a presentation for them.

I don't know if they do it in drag racing, but look into decal contingencies. They're were certain decals we were required to run by the sanctioning body and other ones were forbidden to run(conflict of interest). Other areas of the car were laid out by planograms. Finish in the top 5 with a Holley sticker in this location...$50, that location...$100, ect.

Also many sponsors maybe interested in "support" roles. A motel may give you free rooms, or a restaurant may provide meals for the team. It costs them almost nothing and is a write off.