Pushrod Problems

-

bahamabecomb

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
New member here. Electrician by trade, but it has been 25 years since I have done anything other than minor engine work. My problem is that once I fixed the electrical wiring for the gauges and lights I took it out for a drive and about a mile in the tab on the rotor broke off under the distributor cap and there was some awful sounds (picture of rotor below). Since it was still a points ignition system I ordered the mopar electronic replacement ignition/ distributer from classic industries, installed it and then had a bad backfiring problem through the carb. After resetting the timing several times and doing a compression test I then pulled off the valve covers to find the #4 cylinder exhaust push road was mushroomed on the top and the #2 cylinder exhaust pushrod also had a piece ground off of it (pictures below). I was able to pull out the small cup for one pushrod and also find the broken piece of the other and remove them from the head. 71 Duster with a replacement 340 that I do not have any info on regarding the build.

It looks like Summit has the replacement pushrods but I have the following questions:
How do I know if this is the correct pushrods for the rocker arms installed?
Should the rocker arms be adjustable locking rockers?
How do I set the lash on these once the new pushrods are installed?
Any additional parts that I should purchase with the pushrods?

Thanks for any advice

PXL_20240710_032557727.jpg

PXL_20240710_013015282.jpg

PXL_20240710_012740911.MP.jpg

PXL_20240710_012604107.jpg

Hydraulic or solid lifters?

Those adjusters are backed off too much (push rods too long?)allowing the rocker arm to com in contact with the pushrod cup is what appears to be happening.

You need to have a look at your timing chain before going too much further.