zoom flywheel questions

-

moparmat2000

Reaction score
I found a zoom flywheel on summit racing website. Its a 130T , for a 10.5" clutch, 6 bolt , neutral balance. Would be perfect for my 318 build, but it says it fits 318s from 1985 to 1992. Part number is 50-3409 in summit catalog. I think this is a zoom part number.

I am wondering if theres really any difference between this and an application for a 1974 year model 318. All the specs are what i am looking for except the year model fitment is throwing me off.

Anybody know if this part will fit and work. Price is right on this one. Id like to know 4 sure before i pull the trigger on one of these.

Thanks in advance
Matt

I've been running that flywheel on my 318 now for about 8 months with no problems so far. My engine is a '68 model but it should work on a '74 just fine. Post '92 is a magnum which is externally balanced from what I understand and the LA 318's are internally balanced. What kind of power is your engine making? It's a stock replacement so if you're planning on big power you probably want to invest in a different flywheel that's rated for that.

Also take a look at 440Source they have a small block flywheel that is for both the nuetral balance of the 318 and the external balance of the 360 by removing or adding a bolt on weight. I use this flywheel and it works well in my internal balanced 360

I am building a mild 318. K&B flattops, performer rpm.intake , 56cc magnum closed chamber styled pro comp heads, nice comp cams cam kit. Eddy 650, prob about 375hp

Funny thing is i called up Zoom techline today. This guy couldent tell me weather or not this flywheel fit apps older than 1985, and then told me they dont make parts for those older cars!!! I was like WTF!!!

So i can assume that a standard 10.5" 32T splined mopar clutch would fit this flywheel then. Dowel pins and bolt holes line up then?

Matt