318 rebuild/upgrade

-

harrytoes

Reaction score
I have a 68 fastback barracuda. Handed down from the original owner, my dad. The engine was rebuilt about 10 years ago by my grandfather, a mopar mechanic for over thirty years. It was done pretty much to factory specs. I am planning putting a little punch into the motor with a new cam, "302" heads, and new 4bbl intake and carb.
I am planning on making this into a "G machine" by improving the handling and brakes.

Is there anything that I should do to the "302" heads or should I just bolt them on?

port the crap outa them! i put them on ym teen and the ports are tinny! i should have done more work to mine

if you want to use the 302 heads put 350 valves in them and port them to 360 size. hot rod did this and made over 400hp with a 318.

steve

ahaha this may sound like a stupid question but r u talking about heads offa ford 302 lol? im new to all this sorry ahah

Casting number "302" heads are awesome on a 318. I ported out a set to 360 valves and my 318 suprised the crap out of me (not to mention a few camaros and chevelles)

I am thinking of making it to the "u-pull-it" yards this weekend. I am also working on building my 318 up and 302 heads are definitely on my list.

Can any of you tell me what vehicles I would have the most luck finding the heads in?

Joe

70Swinger said:
ahaha this may sound like a stupid question but r u talking about heads offa ford 302 lol? im new to all this sorry ahah
They are talking about the casting numbers found on the head. The "302" refurs to the last 3 numbers on the heads casting I.D. numbers.
These numbers are found in 2 places. On the intake runners under the head or ontop of the intake runners under the valve cover.
Sometimes you will see someone say the have a head that gets I.D.ed as a letter. Examples are, X, J, O etc...
These are earlier heads but also have a casting number. X and early J heads have the same casting numbers ending in 915.